Announcing the winner of the second Analysis in Government People’s Choice Award

The winner of Analysis in Government (AiG) People’s Choice Award was announced yesterday afternoon during a very special Celebration Day event.

The live event was hosted by senior sponsors Adrian Richards and Jane Whittaker. It featured exclusive presentations from all seven of our AiG Award winners and a speech by Head of the Analysis Function, Professor Sir Ian Diamond. The event concluded with Sir Ian announcing the winner of this year’s People’s Choice Award.

All winners and runners-up from the main AiG Awards were eligible for the People’s Choice Award. Voting opened on Tuesday 23 January 2024 and closed on Thursday 15 February. In that time, more than 500 votes were cast to decide the winner of the People’s Choice Award for this year.


In third place was Miriam Styrnol for her work on the Evaluation Training Academy.

In second place was the Digital Content Innovation Team at the Office for National Statistics (ONS) for their work on Census localised content.

Congratulations to both teams! You can find out more about our runners-up on the People’s Choice Award webpage.

The winning entry

The winner, with 23% of the votes, was the cross-government team that form the Crisis Data Liaison Officer (DLO) Network.

The Crisis Data Liaison Officer (DLO) Network is a cross-government group of 40 crisis, data, and analysis specialists. Members volunteer their time, in addition to their demanding crisis response roles, to identify and improve approaches to sharing data and analysis for the most significant risks facing the UK. The network is the first of its kind in government and is:

  • transforming the way data is brought into the centre for crisis preparedness and response
  • sharing knowledge and best practice between previously disparate teams
  • improving the professionalisation of crisis analysis

Congratulations to the winning team!