The Fourth Annual Analysis in Government (AiG) Awards Shortlist

We are thrilled to announce the hotly anticipated shortlist for the Fourth Annual Analysis in Government (AiG) Awards.

Head of the AF Professor Sir Ian Diamond told us, “The response has been nothing short of outstanding. It’s clear that our vibrant community of analysts is passionate about recognising and celebrating excellence in government analysis.”

Before the big reveal, we would like to take a moment to thank everyone who submitted a nomination for this year’s AiG Awards. We received over 100 nominations representing the wide diversity of departments and professions within the AF and giving a clear indication of the vast amount of outstanding analysis conducted across government in the past year.

Award categories


This award celebrates a person or team who has collaborated between teams, departments, other professions, external organisations or researchers to produce a piece of analysis or analytical project.

The shortlisted entries are:

  • Championing and coordinating Artificial Intelligence (AI) analysis across government – AI Analysis Steering Board Secretariat, Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT) and Office for National Statistics (ONS)
  • Crisis Data Liaison Officer (DLO) Network – led by the Cabinet Office team
  • The evaluation of the Reducing Parental Conflict (RPC) programme – Reducing Parental Conflict Evaluation Team, Department for Work and Pensions (DWP)
  • Harnessing the power of linked data and academic collaboration to improve justice outcomes – Data First Team, Ministry of Justice (MoJ)
  • Transforming justice insights through powerful academic collaborations – Evidence and Partnerships Hub, MoJ


This award celebrates those who have successfully used clear communications to present analysis, considering needs of the audience. This could be an example of public-facing or internal communication within teams, departments or across professions.

The shortlisted entries are:

  • Analysis skills for all civil servants – Pablo Perez, ONS
  • Census localised content – Digital content Innovation team, ONS
  • Delivering a system wide view; establishing the Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC) datahub – Statistics and Data Science team, DHSC
  • Delivery and Risk Committee Dashboard – Department for Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS)
  • Personalised Cost-of-Living tools – Digital Content and Prices teams, Office for National Statistics (ONS)
  • Smoking habits in the UK – Lifestyle and Risk Factors Analysis Branch, ONS
  • Transport User Personas: putting people at the heart of our decisions in the Department for Transport (DfT) – Social Research team, DfT



This award will recognise analysis which has made an impact through use, influenced decision-making or contributed to public debate.

The shortlisted entries are:

  • Developing the Building Safety Regulator – Insight and Service Design team, Health and Safety Executive (HSE)
  • Evidence-based decisions at the Forestry Commission – The Evidence and Analysis Team in Forest Services, Forestry Commission
  • Experiences of Homes for Ukraine Scheme Sponsors – Public Services Analysis Team, Analytical Hub, Office for National Statistics (ONS)
  • Hello EA – Environment Agency Flood Digital Team, Environment Agency
  • Smoke-free generation announcement analysis – Project Hawthorn Analytical Team, Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC)
  • Supported accommodation: preparing to regulate for the first time – Data and Insight Social Care and Area SEND analysis team, Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills (Ofsted)
  • Supporting delivery of key analytical outcomes – Better Outcomes through Linked Data, Ministry of Justice (MoJ)



This award recognises an outstanding contribution in making the Analysis Function a more inclusive Function that is reflective of the citizens we serve, or an outstanding contribution in producing analysis on diversity or inclusion.

The shortlisted entries are:

  • AF Links – Holly Kool, Analysis Function central team
  • Early Years data linkage on childminders – Data and Insight Early Years Data and Analysis Team, Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills (Ofsted)
  • Inclusion Dashboard and Hold to Account Process – People and Business Services, Office for National Statistics (ONS)
  • Lead for mutual mentoring to support D&I in Analysis Function and Department for Education – Sue Kirk, Department for Education (DfE)
  • Placing Ukrainian children in schools – Education Authority Northern Ireland
  • REACHING for inclusion: Unlocking the career progression of minority ethnic colleagues – Race, Ethnicity and Cultural Heritage (REACH) Network, ONS
  • Understanding the needs of non-English speaking and disabled high-rise residents – Insight and Service Design Team, Health and Safety Executive (HSE)


Innovative methods

This award recognises innovative methods or techniques of analysis.

The shortlisted entries are:

  • Accounting for non-detection of error and fraud within estimates – COVID-19 Analysis Coordination and Evaluation Compliance team, HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC)
  • Artificial Intelligence Size of the Prize – Central Digital and Data Office (CDDO) Analysis Team, Cabinet Office
  • Clustering Local Authorities against Subnational Indicators – Sub-national Dissemination teams, ONS
  • Defra Noise Modelling System – Noise and Statutory Nuisance Team, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra)
  • Development White Paper call 4 evidence – Innovative use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) to analyse responses – White Paper AI Team, Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) and Office for National Statistics (ONS)
  • Early Phase Estimating Hackathon – Cost Assurance and Analysis Service, Ministry of Defence (MOD)


The Professor Sir Ian Diamond Rising Star Award

This is an award recognising a person who has displayed excellence in championing or promoting the Analysis Function. The winner of The Professor Sir Ian Diamond Rising Star Award will be someone in the first 5 years of their career as a government analyst who has gone above and beyond what would be expected for an analyst of their experience, or who has championed the importance of analysis. Nominees for the Rising Star Award can be in grades up to and including Grade 7 and can be of any profession or age.

The shortlisted entries are:

  • Alexandra Moore, Food Standards Agency (FSA) – Exceptional work during Food Standards Agency Fast Stream placement
  • Amy Cookson, Ministry of Justice (MoJ) – Integrated Offender Management Analysis
  • Fay Sadro, Cabinet Office, Evaluation Task Force
  • Matthew Taylor, MoJ – Recall analysis for custodial options taskforce, and prisoner education service
  • Miriam Styrnol, Cabinet Office – The Evaluation Academy
  • Steve Chick, HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC) –  Inspiring analysts across the Analytical Community


When will the winners be announced?

These shortlisted nominations are being considered by our expert judging panel who will decide on up to two highly commended nominations, one runner-up, and one winner in each of the six categories.

Our marvellous winners will be announced early in the new year.

Keep checking the AF website for more announcements very soon!